All concerts are at the Unitarian Universalist Church of Berkeley, 1 Lawson Road, Kensington. Please see “Contact” tab for map/directions. Plenty of free parking available.

General Season Ticket Package: $75 per ticket (4 concerts)

Senior/Student Season Ticket Package: $60 per ticket (4 concerts)

Season Ticket Package applies to the October 26, December 14, February 29, and June 13 Concerts only. The KSO does not control the box office for the April 26 joint UUCB concert. 

Advanced Single Tickets are available at:

Brown Paper Tickets


Single Tickets are also available at the door:

  • General Admission $25

  • Seniors (65 and over)/Students $20

  • Children under 12 are free


Saturday, October 26 @ 7:30 p.m.

We open the season with a celebration of the vibrant, exotic, colorful culture that is Spain. Our featured soloist is the virtuoso Spanish classical guitarist and wonderful composer, Jaume Torrent, direct from Barcelona, who will perform his own Concierto de Rialp, a vivid and somewhat impressionistic depiction of the Basque county that he is from. The program is bookended by works representative of the great French interest in the Spanish culture: Chabrier’s brilliant España and Ravel’s impressionistic masterwork Rapsodie Espanole. The lovely and evocative Intermezzo from Enrinque Granados’ opera Goyescas rounds out what will surely be an exciting start to the season. 

American Holiday

Saturday, December 14 @ 7:30 p.m.

 We are back home for the holidays, featuring the world premiere by KSO Composer in Residence Mark Narins celebrating the life and memorializing the sudden and much too soon death of Bob Blanshard, long time member of the KSO bass section. The concert will open with Copland’s exuberant Buckaroo Holiday from his ballet tribute to the American Southwest, Rodeo.  Second New England School composer George Chadwick’s reflective Noël from his Symphonic Sketches opens the second half of the program, and the wonderfully clever, energetic and entertaining homage to Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker by Duke Ellington, as arranged by Jeff Tyzik, completes the program and rings in the holidays and the New Year in swinging fashion!


Happy Birthday Ludwig!

Saturday, February 29 (Leap Year) @ 7:30 p.m.

In our first salute to the 250th birth year of this great titan of western music, we celebrate with two works that were written in the same year (1806).  We open with the, relatively speaking, less often performed Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major and after intermission, the monumental Violin Concerto in D Major. The distinguished Leonid Igudesman, long time member of the San Francisco Opera Orchestra First Violin section, is our featured soloist. 

Romance & Reconciliation

Sunday, April 26 @ 3 p.m. Note Special Day and Time

We are pleased to be joining forces again this season with UUCB and San Francisco Unitarian Church choruses in  two profound works. Ralph Vaughan Williams’ cantata Dona Nobis Pacem (Grant us peace), with text by Walt Whitman, political speech and verses from the Roman Catholic mass form this somber and contemplative commentary on WWI and ominous foreboding of WWII. Preceding this are Five African American spirituals from Sir Michael Tippett’s massive secular oratorio, A Child of Our Time.  Inspired by events that affected Tippett profoundly: the assassination in 1938 of a German diplomat by a young Jewish refugee, and the Nazi government's reaction in the form of a violent pogrom against its Jewish population called Kristallnacht. Tippett's oratorio deals with these incidents in the context of the experiences of oppressed people generally, and carries a strongly pacifist message of ultimate understanding and reconciliation. 


The first half of the program will be dedicated to one of the greatest Romantic violin concertos in the repertoire: Max Bruch’s First Concerto in G minor featuring our own Concertmaster Jason Totzke as soloist. 



The British are coming the British are coming!

Saturday, June 13 @ 7:30 p.m.

We conclude the season with two more great British composers: Sir William Walton and his rarely performed Viola Concerto featuring our own Principal viola, Milda Martisius as soloist in one of the most important works ever written for solo viola. Following intermission, we will conclude the concert and the season with Sir Edward Elgar’s beloved set of Variations on an Original Theme, each of which is dedicated to and is structured as a musical “portrait” paying tribute to the composer’s close friends and  acquaintances as well as his wife Alice. In naming his theme "Enigma" Elgar posed a challenge which has generated much speculation but has never been conclusively answered. The Enigma is widely believed to involve a hidden melody. What is no mystery is the noble, expressive and stirring music that is this inspiring work.